JUNE 2018: The Editor’s Choice.

We saw so many great titles come through this month, it was difficult to choose a number one – but here it is: The Pacifist by Mehreen Ahmed. Nominated for a Goodreads Choice Award, Christina Stead Prize & the Historical Fiction Global Award, comes a dark tapestry of nineteenth century Australia, using a touch of magical realism, stream of consciousness writing and super-naturalism. “The Pacifist” reveals Australian author Ahmed’s exceptional flair for narrative storytelling and compellingly memorable characters.

 

facebook-discussiongoodreads--D

pac

 

Advertisements

MAY 2018: The Editor’s Choice.

May sees spring come to life. But the Spring showers didn’t dampen the quality of content we received! Here’s the Editors’ Choice for this month: Entrance by J.J. Sorel. How could an ordinary girl with an unnatural fondness for vintage clothes and art, find herself amongst a room of hopefuls looking more like supermodels? The boss’s name was a mystery. But judging by the opulent surroundings, he was filthy rich with impeccable, old-world tastes. The following day, everything changed.

 

facebook-discussiongoodreads--D

entrance

 

April 2018: The Editor’s Choice.

The submissions this month certainly were impressive. Without further ado, we present: The Vatican Cameos: A Sherlock Holmes Adventure by Richard T. Ryan. When the papal apartments are burgled in 1901, Sherlock Holmes is summoned to Rome by Pope Leo XII. In a parallel story, Michelangelo, the toast of Rome in 1501 after the unveiling of his Pieta, is commissioned by Pope Alexander VI, the last of the Borgia pontiffs, with creating the cameos that will bedevil Holmes and the papacy four centuries later.

facebook-discussiongoodreads--D

vat

March 2018: The Editor’s Choice.

Another month and another great round of titles! Here’s the choice for March: Chosen by Lauren Chow. Exhausted from the taunts of her classmates and the neglect of her careless foster parents, Clara is counting down the days until graduation. When swoon-worthy Jay Woods transfers to Ford High School, Clara’s eyes are opened to a universe she never knew existed. As the life she once knew shatters and ancient secrets are revealed, Clara must learn to control her newfound powers while defeating a raging darkness that will change the world forever. Could “The Freak” from Ford High be the key to saving the human race?

facebook-discussiongoodreads--D

chosen

February 2018: The Editor’s Choice.

We have come across a number of stellar titles over the past month, but DD’s pick of the finest reading from the past month’s submissions is ‘Before We Were Yours’ by Lisa Wingate. A story of a family lost and found . . . a poignant, engrossing tale about sibling love and the toll of secrets. A thought-provoking & complex tale about two families, two generations apart . . . based on a notorious true-life scandal.

facebook-discussiongoodreads--DB4

 

January 2018: The Editor’s Choice.

A new year and a month! Here is the first choice of 2018. In Kylie Brant’s taut thriller Pretty Girls Dancing, Whitney DeVries is dancing for her life, and yet I couldn’t help but mime the familiar ballet positions. That’s the power of good writing. But these aren’t the ballet classes of my youth—in this class, the girls don’t live to see their recital. With every pirouette, we come closer to the killer.

facebook-discussiongoodreads--D34530003

 

December 2017: The Editor’s Choice.

Another month and another great round of titles! Here is the final choice of 2017. From the pen of Kerry J Donovan, Ryan Kaine: On the Run, is a powerful, action-packed novel set against the backdrop of the international arms trade. The first in the new thriller series, Ryan Kaine, is a new addition to the great military action characters in the tradition of Lee Child, Mark Dawson, and Matt Rogers.

facebook-discussiongoodreads--D

RYAN